

News Release

Takeda Announces Candidates for New Directors

Osaka, Japan, May 14, 2019, --- Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited (<u>TSE:4502/NYSE:TAK</u>) ("Takeda") today announced that it has decided the candidates for new Directors which will be proposed to the 143rd Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders on June, 2019. The candidates are as follows;

1. Candidates for Non-Audit and Supervisory Committee Directors

Name	Category		Current Role
Christophe Weber	Internal	Existing	Representative Director, President & Chief Executive Officer
Masato Iwasaki	Internal	Existing	Director, President, Japan Pharma Business Unit
Andrew Plump	Internal	Existing	Director, President, Research & Development
Constantine Saroukos	Internal	New	Corporate Officer, Chief Financial Officer
Masahiro Sakane	External	Existing	External Director, Chair of the Board Meeting
Olivier Bohuon	External	Existing	External Director
Ian Clark	External	Existing	External Director
Yoshiaki Fujimori	External	Existing	External Director
Steven Gillis	External	Existing	External Director
Toshiyuki Shiga	External	Existing	External Director
Jean-Luc Butel	External	New	External Director, Audit & Supervisory Committee member
Shiro Kuniya	External	New	External Director, Head of Audit & Supervisory Committee

Among the above candidates, Jean-Luc Butel and Shiro Kuniya will resign as Audit & Supervisory Committee Directors at the close of the 143rd Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders.

2. Candidates for Audit and Supervisory Committee Directors

Name	Category		Current Role
Emiko Higashi	External	New	External Director
Michel Orsinger	External	New	External Director

Audit & Supervisory Committee Directors (Yasuhiko Yamanaka and Koji Hatsukawa) are within their 2-year tenure, and are not subjects for reelection this year.

Media Contact:

Kazumi Kobayashi

kazumi.kobayashi@takeda.com

+81 (0) 3-3278-2095

###